Salim, Nda-Isaiah, Others Receive PSN’s Lifetime Achievement Awards

The Pharmaceutical Society of Nigeria (PSN) has honoured the Director General, Standards Organisation of Nigeria (SON), Mallam Farouk Salim and five other Pharmacists for attaining great heights in the public service.

The honour and awards were conferred on the recipients at a Presidential Reception and Thanksgiving Dinner by the PSN in Abuja witnessed by friends and associates, a statement from the office of the Director General said on Thursday.

Chairman of the occasion and Publisher of Leadership Newspapers, Pharmacist Sam Nda-Isaiah congratulated all the awardees on attaining key positions in the public sector and described them as great pride to the pharmacy profession.

He enjoined the award recipients to strive to make meaningful impact in their various positions to pave way for the appointment of more Pharmacists into key positions of responsibilities in the public and private sectors in the near future.

Commenting on the EndSARS protest in the country, the Publisher expressed support for the idea but condemned the wanton destruction and arson that followed, stressing that even President Muhammadu Buhari supported the protest by acceding to the immediate disbandment of the outfit.

Nda-Isaiah admonished the protesters to embrace dialogue in achieving thetr noble objectives and expressed regret that they allowed hoodlums to hijack the protest.  

In his keynote address, President of PSN, Mazi Sam Ohuabunwa commended the SON Director General on his appointment and expressed the confidence that the Organisation is set for positive changes to improve on its achievements in years past.

The PSN President expressed the pride of the Society in having Pharmacists occupy key public service positions such as Permanent Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Budget and Planning by Mrs. Olusola Idowu, Mallam Farouk Salim, Director General, SON, Dr. Kelly Nwagha as Acting Director General, National Social Insurance Trust Fund (NSITF), Dr. Zango Mohammed as Managing Director, NNPC Medical Services, Mrs. Christiana Akpa, General Manager, Medical Services, Nigerian Ports Authority and Professor Isa Hussani Marte, Chief of Staff to the Governor of Borno State.

Mazi Ohuabunwa noted the efforts of all the appointees in expanding their knowledge base as well as building their capacities beyond pharmacy as a profession but rather as effective managers of men and resources.

He commended the various organisations in the health care sector in particular for opening the turf for leadership to all professionals in the sector and challenged practicing Pharmacists to provide avenues for the professional development of those upcoming.

The PSN President challenged the awardees and all members of the Society to join hands towards the speedy completion of the Secretariat building project in Abuja and invest in a similar project in Lagos for good returns.

The special guest of honour at the occasion was Pharmacist (Dr.) Dere Awosika, retired Permanent Secretary and Chairman, Board of Directors of Access Bank Plc.

Pharmacist Sam Nda-Isaiah was honoured at the occasion for his pioneering role in entrepreneurship, publishing and politics.

The occasion was also graced by the Registrar of the PSN, Mr. Elijah Mohammed, retiring Director, Federal Ministry of Health, Mr. Moshood Oluku Lawal and Director General, National Institute for Pharmaceutical Research and Development, Dr. Obi Adigwe amongst many other dignitaries.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Back to top button